Skip to: Main Content Search Navigation Secondary Navigation
College of Arts & Sciences

Jeanette G. Grasselli Brown Undergraduate Research Award

Jeanette G. Grasselli Brown earned a bachelor’s degree in Chemistry from Ohio University, summa cum laude, in 1950. In 1978, she was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Science by Ohio University. She has served as a member of the Ohio Board of Regents.

While an undergraduate student, Grasselli Brown had the opportunity to engage in research with a faculty mentor. In a significant measure, that intellectual experience led to her later professional career as a research chemist with BP, where she became Director of Corporate Research and Analytical Science.

This research award, made possible by Dr. Grasselli Brown’s generosity, seeks to encourage and facilitate the involvement of undergraduate students in a significant research effort.

Past Recipients

2013 recipient: Jason Malizia, Chemistry and Biochemistry (Mentor, Jeffrey Rack, Ph.D.)

Guidelines and Criteria for Selection

  • Nomination Form (hyperlink)
  • Deadline: MISSING!!!

Three undergraduate research awards of $1,000 each will be made annually to students sponsored by faculty from the following disciplines: Biological Sciences, Chemistry and Biochemistry, Geological Sciences, Mathematics, Environmental and Plant Biology, and Physics and Astronomy. Up to half of the award may be used as a stipend for the student, and the remainder should be spent on the project.

Student nominees need not be majors in these departments, but they must be engaged in research with faculty from these disciplines. More than one nomination will be accepted from each of the above listed departments.

The criteria and standards used in selecting nominees should identify persons with serious interest in research and adequate preparation for pursuit of the proposed research projects. Graduating seniors are not usually eligible.

Nominations by sponsoring faculty mentors, together with research proposals prepared by the student nominees, will be solicited by the Dean's Office through the faculty and chairs of the departments mentioned above.

Nominations are limited to 3 pages, double-spaced, font 10. They must be received by the Committee by the deadline, and should be sent electronically in pdf format to Vicki Butcher (

Departmental Social Media

College of Arts & Sciences