About the Program

The Margaret Boyd Scholars Program seeks to inspire and encourage undergraduate women to become engaged, confident and connected leaders at Ohio University and beyond. Women are selected as Boyd Scholars in fall semester of their first year. The four-year program includes a first-year seminar, a second-year residential component, a third-year internship experience and a fourth-year capstone seminar.

The Margaret Boyd Scholars Program is open to students from all colleges and majors. Scholars are encouraged to pursue other interests, including study abroad, athletics and involvement in campus and community organizations. 

Named in honor of Margaret Boyd, Ohio University’s first female graduate [of the class of 1873], the program is a collaboration between the Division of Student Affairs, the Office for Diversity and Inclusion and University College. The Margaret Boyd Scholars Program is a 2012 grant recipient of the prestigious 1804 Fund.

Request more information about the Margaret Boyd Scholars Program by e-mailing boydscholars@ohio.edu.




Advisory Board Members


Jennifer Bowie
Executive Director of Development, 
Advancement Communications and Marketing
University Advancement
206 McKee House
Athens, OH. 45701
T: 740-597-2987
bowiej@ohio.edu

Melissa Haviland
Associate Professor of Art
Associate Director, School of Art
528 Seigfred Hall
Athens, OH. 45701
T: 740-593-9996
haviland@ohio.edu

Miriam Shadis, PhD
Associate Professor of History
455 Bentley Annex
Athens, OH. 45701
T: 740-593-4364
shadis@ohio.edu

Gerardine G. Botte, PhD
Russ Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Director, Center for Electrochemical Engineering Research
165 Stocker Center
Athens, OH. 45701
T: 740-593-9670
botte@ohio.edu

Peggy J. Pruitt, PhD
Retired, Sr. Associate Director of Athletics
Athens, OH. 45701
T: 740-593-3410
pruitt@ohio.edu

 

 

Program Staff

Patricia McSteen, PhD
Associate Dean of Students and
Director of the Margaret Boyd Scholars Program
Baker University Center 345
One Park Place
Athens, OH 45701
T: 740-593-1800
mcsteenp@ohio.edu


Tanya N. Barnett, MA
Director of Degree Programs
University College
Chubb Hall 265
1 Ohio University
Athens, OH 45701
T: 740.593.1935 
barnett@ohio.edu


Susanne B. Dietzel, PhD
Director of the Women’s Center
Founding Director of the Margaret Boyd Scholars Program
Baker University Center 403
1 Park Place
Athens, OH 45701
T:  740.593.9626
dietzel@ohio.edu

Boyd Scholars Title Image